Barbara Dickson Words Unspoken CD

Barbara Dickson Words Unspoken CD


For further information regarding track listing and contents please check the additional information tab below.

For international customers please note sizes are shown in UK format, if in doubt please contact customer services.

Out of stock

SKU: 60423
  • Additional Information

  • On 1st February, 2011, Barbara's latest album, 'Words Unspoken', will be released by Scotland's leading independent record label: Greentrax. The release of the album will coincide with Barbara's 2011 UK tour which will feature producer and musical director Troy Donockley and the tour band. Venues will include Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, London Queen Elizabeth Hall, Dublin National Concert Hall and much more.

    'Words Unspoken' includes another Barbara and Troy song-writing collaboration, 'The Magical West' which opens the album and should catch the attention of reviewers, presenters and fans alike. The album ends with the Paul Simon classic 'Bridge Over Trouble Water', sung beautifully to a gentle guitar backing. In between, Barbara interprets the eight traditional songs with sensitivity and confidence: 'Jamie Raeburn', 'Ythanside', 'The Trees They Do Grow High', 'Will Ye Gang Love', 'Presonent Hodie', 'Kishmul's Galley', 'Ca' The Yowes' and 'King Orfeo'. 'Smile in Your Sleep' written by Jim McLean and 'My Donald', by the late Owen Hand, completes a formidable album with artist and producer in total harmony. Barbara is in fine voice throughout and the arrangements are both excellent and varied. 

    The multi-talented Troy Donockley plays electric and acoustic guitars, Uilleann pipes, whistles, bouzouki, keyboards and adds percussion and backing vocals; Brad Lang plays double bass, electric bass and also adds backing vocals; Frank Van Essen plays violins, viola and drums; Andy Dinan plays fiddle; Lucy Muir plays harp and Nick Holland add vocals.

    No Further Information.